Skip to content

Your Home as an Investment Vehicle

April 15, 2013

Your home is not just the place you hang out with your family and friends. It is also where you put a great percentage of your income through your mortgage and upkeep. The upkeep is an ongoing expense, but the  mortgage payments turn into equity. The equity can turn into an investment vehicle that will help you prosper when others are not and may also make your retirement years affluent rather than poverty stricken.

Most people are happy to finish paying their mortgage. Some even have “Mortgage Burning parties`. This is one way to look at a mortgage that relieves you of your monthly obligation. It just shows that you can work hard, not smart. There are other ways to look at a mortgage that are better for your long term financial health.  These have been heavily written about by Robert Kiyosaki in his series of books, his lectures and his on-line presence.

Working smart means that you use proven strategies to turn the equity in your home into an investment into another house that someone else will pay for through their rent. The equity built in this rental house is yours to borrow against or to cash out should you decide to sell. This strategy can be successful if you are judicious in the buy and screen tenants  to avoid downtime irregularities in the rent and damage to the place.

You can also put that same amount of money into a pool that buys you part of  a multi-family housing business.  If the investment is structured correctly, there will be a monthly income for all investors. This has less vacancy risk  than a single house  because there are a greater number of rentals.  Should someone do a midnight move, the profit for each investor is a little less for that month.

I am very fond of `Real Estate ` as an investment as opposed to many other investment vehicles. The return on an investment in real estate  depends upon the investor for the most part  because they must do `Due Diligence`. This includes buying at the right price so there is cash flow after the mortgage is paid.  This is valid whether the investment is a single house or an apartment complex.

It also depends on screening the prospective tenants to weed out the disruptive and addictive personalities. Many investors prefer to hire a property manager rather than doing this kind of thing themselves. It reduces the immediate profit, but gives long term profit as a good  manager sees more prospective tenants and will learn to read the signs better.

Should anyone decide to invest in a company, I would advocate investing in a local company rather than doing it through the stock market. You can stop in to see the business practices of a local company, whereas that is usually impossible if you invest through the stock market. The owner of a local company will usually be much more inclined to answer questions about bottom line decisions and returns. You probably would know that person which increases your chances of not being burnt on your investment.

As you may have noticed, I do not like the stock market as an investment vehicle for the most part. I also do not like  Mutual Funds or other investments of that manner. There are too many ways that investments can disappear leaving the investor with a worthless piece of paper while many involved have a pocket full of the investors` cash.

If you wish to pull equity out of your property for an investment while keeping your same payment schedule, contact  me 250.766.2106 or email  at fredmurray@shaw.ca for a cost free obligation free consultation. We have helped thousands of others, we may be able to help you.

73 Comments
  1. hi you have a cool blog. I wanna say thanks for posting this cool information with us. Keep up good job.

  2. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your web-site?

    My blog is in the very same area of interest as yours and my
    users would definitely benefit from a lot of the information you
    provide here. Please let me know if this ok with you.
    Thanks a lot!

  3. Hi there mates, its great article concerning educationand fully
    explained, keep it up all the time.

  4. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your blog. You have some really good posts and I think I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d really like
    to write some content for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please blast me an email if interested. Cheers!

  5. Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up.
    The words in your post seem to be running off the screen in
    Chrome. I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know.
    The style and design look great though! Hope you get the issue
    solved soon. Cheers

  6. Good way of telling, and fastidious entry to obtain facts on the topic of my presentation subject
    matter, which i am going to convey in college.

  7. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be actually something which
    I think I would never understand. It seems too complex and very broad for me.
    I am looking forward for your next post, I will try to
    get the hang of it!

  8. Hi, everything is going perfectly here and ofcourse every one is sharing data,
    that’s genuinely good, keep up writing.

  9. Wow, marvelous blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is wonderful,
    as well as the content!

  10. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on mortgage interest rate.

    Regards

  11. Aw, this was a really nice post. Taking a few minutes and
    actual effort to produce a great article, but what
    can I say, I procrastinate a whole lot and never seem to get
    nearly anything done.

  12. Hey There. I found your blog using bing. This is an extremely well written article.
    I will make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info.
    Thanks for the post. I will definitely come back.

  13. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s a very easy on the eyes which
    makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and
    visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your
    theme? Exceptional work!

  14. I have read so many posts concerning the blogger lovers however this editorial is really a pleasant editorial, keep it up.

  15. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking
    back often!

  16. My brother recommended I might like this web site. He
    was totally right. This post actually made my day. You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  17. Howdy! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist with SEO?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not
    seeing very good results. If you know of any please share.
    Appreciate it!

  18. It’s actually a nice and useful piece of information. I am satisfied that you simply shared this helpful info with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  19. First off I want to say excellent blog! I had a quick question
    in which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind. I was curious to know how you
    center yourself and clear your head before writing.
    I’ve had a difficult time clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out. I truly do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or tips? Thank you!

    • If it only takes 10 to 15 minutes, keep it up. Framing my post in my mind before I write it can take an hour.

  20. I am not sure where you’re getting your info, but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more. Thanks for great info I was looking for this information for my mission.

  21. I seriously love your blog.. Pleasant colours & theme.
    Did you create this web site yourself? Please reply back as I’m hoping to create my very own blog and would like to learn where you got this from or what the theme is named. Appreciate it!

  22. This is really interesting, You’re a capable writer. I have joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post. Also, I have shared your website in my social networks!

  23. We’re a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your site provided us with valuable information to work on. You have done an impressive job and our whole community will be grateful to you.

  24. I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one these days.

  25. It’s truly a nice and helpful piece of information. I am happy that you shared this helpful information with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

  26. Remarkable things here. I am very happy to look your post.
    Thank you a lot and I’m looking ahead to touch you. Will you please drop me a e-mail?

  27. Hi there pals, how is everything, and what you wish for to say regarding
    this editorial, in my view its really awesome
    in favour of me.

  28. My brother recommended I might like this website.
    He was totally right. This submission truly made my day.
    You cann’t imagine just how so much time I had spent for this information! Thank you!

  29. I couldn’t resist commenting. Perfectly written!

  30. Everything is very open with a very clear clarification of the issues.
    It was really informative. Your website is useful. Many thanks for sharing!

  31. Wow! This blog looks exactly like my old one! It’s on a totally different subject but it has pretty much the same page layout and design. Wonderful choice of colours!

  32. We’re a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your web site provided us with helpful information to work on. You’ve done an impressive process and our whole neighborhood
    might be thankful to you.

  33. Wonderful web site. Plenty of helpful information here.
    I am sending it to several mates ans also sharing in delicious.
    And naturally, thanks to your sweat!

  34. Right here is the perfect site for anybody who would like to understand this topic.
    You realize a whole lot its almost tough to argue with you (not that I
    actually would want to…HaHa). You definitely put
    a fresh spin on a topic which has been discussed for many years.

    Great stuff, just great!

  35. I really like it when people get together and share views.
    Great website, keep it up!

  36. It’s hard to find experienced people for this subject, however, you sound like you know what you’re talking
    about! Thanks

  37. Great post. I used to be continuously checking this blog and I am impressed!
    Extremely useful info specially the remaining section 🙂 I handle
    such information a lot. I used to be seeking this certain information for a very
    long time. Thanks and best of luck.

  38. That is really fascinating, You’re an excessively professional blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look forward to in search of more of your excellent post. Also, I have shared your web site in my social networks

  39. An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a colleague who had been conducting a little homework on this. And he in fact bought me lunch simply because I stumbled upon it for him… lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanx for spending time to discuss this subject here on your blog.

  40. Spot on with this write-up, I really think this site needs
    much more attention. I’ll probably be returning to read through more, thanks for the information!

  41. Hi there, I found your website via Google while looking for a comparable topic, your
    web site came up, it seems great. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hello there, just become aware of your blog via Google, and found that it’s truly informative.
    I am going to watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate if you happen to continue this in future. Numerous other peeps will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  42. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your website. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes
    it much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit
    more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?
    Fantastic work!

  43. Magnificent beat ! I would like to apprentice at the same time as
    you amend your web site, how can i subscribe for a web-site site?
    The account helped me a acceptable deal. I had been a little
    bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided vibrant clear concept

  44. I personally didn’t spend too long on this myself, but I can see it’s obviously
    worth trying.

  45. A person necessarily help to make seriously posts I would state.
    This is the first time I frequented your website page and thus far?
    I surprised with the analysis you made to make this particular article incredible.
    Great activity!

  46. This website was… how do you say it? Relevant!
    ! Finally I have found something which helped me. Cheers!

  47. Thanks for finally talking about >Your Home
    as an Investment Vehicle | theheuristicmarketer <Loved it!

  48. Howdy! This blog post could not be written any better!
    Looking at this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He continually kept preaching about this. I most certainly will forward this information to him.
    Pretty sure he’ll have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

  49. Good blog you have here.. It’s hard to find good quality writing like yours nowadays. I honestly appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  50. Wow, that’s what I was exploring for, what a data! existing here at this web-site, thanks admin of this website.

  51. Awesome! Its in fact amazing post, I have got much clear idea on
    the topic of from this entry.

  52. Hi I am Randall, and it’s my first time commenting anyplace. When I saw this post I thought I would comment due to its brilliant material on the subject. Thanks.

  53. It’s going to be finish of mine day, but before ending I am reading this fantastic content to improve my knowledge.

  54. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post used to be good. I don’t realize who you’re however definitely you are going to a well-known blogger if you happen to are not already. Cheers!

  55. Usually I do not learn article on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very
    pressured me to check out and do it! Your writing taste has been amazed me.
    Thanks, very great post.

  56. I’ve been browsing for a comprehensive discussion on this for about a week, and this has been a great help. I will be getting this tweeted for definite.

  57. So – Your Home as an Investment Vehicle | theheuristicmarketer – I would never have thought it would be as good reading as this.
    Now I should actually go and do some WORK.

  58. I’ve been browsing online more than 4 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be much more useful than ever before.

  59. Spot on with this write-up, I honestly feel this site needs a lot more attention.
    I’ll probably be back again to read more, thanks for the info!

  60. I visited multiple web pages except the value of present content
    at this site is in fact wonderful.

  61. It’s really a nice and useful piece of information. I am satisfied that you simply shared this helpful information with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  62. This has made me consider if there’s a couple of ways I could do things a little more efficiently.

  63. Perfect intro, made me read it all. Mine always seem to drag on, yours is nice
    and effective.

  64. I know lots of people who would like this.

  65. Haha I shared this myself. Love it.

  66. I feel as though I could read about this all day, it’s engrossing. I don’t even need a tea yet.

  67. That’s what I meant…. You’d have to be blind to think otherwise.

Leave a Reply

